Skincare Favorites: Cleansers

Hey everyone!!

Welcome back to part two of seven all about my skincare favorites. This post I will be discussing my all time favorite cleaners and why I think you should give them a try.

For a quick reference, I have oily skin, mainly in my t-zone. My cheeks do get oily but not super oily as everywhere else. During the winter, my face gets drier overall but still gets oily throughout the day.

To get a quick overview of the types of products I will be talking about in future posts, you can check out my first skincare post here.

IMG_2033

As you can tell, I chose to take the photos of the actual products I use on a daily to show that I really do use them (this is not to say others don’t use them, I just like taking pictures of stuff.)

First up we have:

  • GlamGlow Supercleanse Daily Clearing Cleaner (available at Sephora in-store and online). Here is why it’s one of my favorites:
    • Mud to foam, to help dissolve oil, makeup and impurities.
    • Helps mattifiy and purify the skin by unclogging pores.
    • It helps with my breakouts. Seriously, when I’m breaking out the eucalyptus leaf powder + bamboo charcoal, helps dry out any breaks in my skin when used for a few days in a row.
    • Main active ingredients (excerpt taken from Sephora.com)
      • TEAOXI® Technology (Eucalyptus Leaf Powder): Delivers natural eucalyptol, natural linalool oil, and powerful flavonoids to soothe and treat skin.
        K17 and Mediterranean Clays: Detoxify, refine skin texture, and balance problem-prone skin.
        Bamboo Charcoal: Provides balanced replenishment to the skin with essential bamboo minerals.
        Black Cumin Seed Extract: Provides antimicrobial and antioxidant properties to help provide a more clear complexion.
    • Perfect for any skin type, especially oily skin, but it has peppermint oil, so the fragrance is very strong with this products.
    • GlamGlow also warns that is NOT a mask and shouldn’t be worn like one.

Next, I have:

  • Lancôme Energie de Vie The Cleansing oil (available at Sephora in-store and online).
    • Makeup remover and cleansing oil in one.
    • Really lightweight. I prefer to use this cleansing oil when I’m mainly wearing a BB cream or light to medium foundations. I found when using my full coverage  foundations, it takes a bit more product to remove the makeup.
    • It has an infusion of powerful antioxidants such as Soy seed, Gentiana Root, and Tamarin Fruit to help combat skin fatigue.
    • The end result of using this cleanser is a face that looks dewy, like “just out the shower” glow.
    • Compared to all of the other cleansing oils out there, this is the first I’ve seen where the instructions say to wet your face first before adding oil (I’ve been doing it on a dry face hahaha!!!)

We move on to,

  • Algenist Purifying & Replenishing Cleanser (available at Sephora in-store and online, Algenist website)
    • A gentle cleanser that will remove makeup and purify the skin in one step.
    • Suitable for all skin types.
    • Helps balance, soften, and moisturize the skin while reducing the size of pores.
    • Typically I use this cleanser the morning after I use a makeup wipe to further ensure there’s no makeup residue left.
    • Contains chamomile and cucumber extract to soothe the skin | Microalgae oil to replenish essential moisture and nourish the skin | Vitamin B to condition and moisturize the skin.

And lastly,

  • Tatcha Pure One-step Camellia Cleansing Oil (available at Sephora in-store and online, Tatcha website)
    • This cleansing oil removes my full coverage foundations with such ease and leaves your face so damn soft!
    • It is a makeup remover and cleanser in one. This oil can even be used in the eye area!
    • Contains botanical ingredients to leave your face soft and clean.
    • Contains vitamins A, B, and E to nourish dry skin, calm sensitive skin, and decongest oily skin. This oil is also rich in oleic and linoleic acids.
      • Active ingredients also include Camellia oil (containing a higher percentage of omega-9 oleic acid than olive oil + Hadasei-3(tm) Bioactive Complex which is a blend of green tea, Okinawa red algae, and Japanese rice bran extracts to help nourish and protect the skin.
    • Mix this with the Polished Classic Rice Enzyme Powder and you have yourself and amazing exfoliating cleanser.

My skin cleansing tool of choice is,

  • Fore Luna mini (available Sephora online and in select stores. There is also a larger version (the Luna) and the second generation (Luna mini 2))
    • It’s a facial brush that uses T-Sonic ™ pulsations through soft silicone touch for a deep gentle cleansing.
    • There are three different brushes:
      • Thick on the back for oilier skin.
      • Medium and thinner on the first for dry or sensitive skin.
    • Gentle vibrations help break up pores that are clogged with dirt, oil, and makeup residue. It enhances the absorption of skin care products.
    • Comes with a two year warranty, a charger (I’ve had my Luna mini since January 7th and only charged it once and it was the day I bought it. I believe this can hold a charge for up to 5 or 6 months (compared to my Clarisonic).
    • Since switching to Luna mini, I didn’t have to charge my device as often nor worry about buying new brush head every 60-90 days.
    • DO NOT use the following cleansers because they may damage the soft silicone touch-points:
      • clay-based
      • silicone-based
      • grainy cleansers, exfoliators or scrubs

 

And there you have! Sorry for the long post, I just love providing as much info as possible.

What are your favorite cleansers and/or cleansing tools? Let me know in the comments below and stay tuned for the next post all about my favorite Mask and Scrubs.

 

Until next time!!

xo Myschel

 

Leave a Reply

